PDA

View Full Version : Shotgun Ammo...

Baga
06-03-2011, 10:54 AM
:confused: I'm still trying to learn the differences between shotgun ammo. What are each one made for? Buck shot, bird shot, slugs, what else is there?
What do you use for shotgun ammo? Whats for target shooting at the range? Whats for hunting? 12Gauge, size? :confused:
If there is another thread with all the answers, please direct me. I tried to search for it but didn't give me good results. Thanks.

r870noob
06-03-2011, 11:46 AM
The literal name is pretty much what each type of ammo is for, buck shot is for buck, birdshot is for birds, etc. I'm still learning myself too lol.
Depending on the range you go to, some ranges allow buck and slugs, others just allow birdshot, so it all depends.

FYI, depending on your living space, some people keep buckshot as home defense ammo, others use birdshot, and some also use slugs even. There's a lot of different types of ammo for different situations, it just depends on your needs. If anyone cares to chime in, please do so because id like to keep an open ear on this.

call-in
06-03-2011, 12:57 PM
Birdshot = birds
Buckshot = bucks
Slugs = slugs :eek:

:D
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_hk_cayNIONo/RtBByrQLcHI/AAAAAAAAFJA/9O3mo1N_AWc/s400/SLUGS.JPG

bjl333
06-03-2011, 2:34 PM
:confused: I'm still trying to learn the differences between shotgun ammo. What are each one made for? Buck shot, bird shot, slugs, what else is there?
What do you use for shotgun ammo? Whats for target shooting at the range? Whats for hunting? 12Gauge, size? :confused:
If there is another thread with all the answers, please direct me. I tried to search for it but didn't give me good results. Thanks.

Buck is for selfdefense. They shoot around a bunch of BB sized pellet (Depending on the size of the shot ofcoz)

Bird shot is for birds or clays.

Slugs are for hunting animals where the state don't allow the use of a rifle.

Shot sizes varies:
Birdshot the higher the number the smaller the shot.