PDA

View Full Version : Mythbusters - Dodge a sniper's bullet?

andrewj
06-01-2011, 9:57 PM
I tuned in late to tonights episode of Mythbusters, but if I heard correctly, they busted the myth that you cannot effectively dodge a sniper's bullet.

They used the rifle's muzzle flash as the cue to initiate the reaction to move from the bullet's path. They found, however, that at the distance where there is enough time to react and move away from the bullet' path, the muzzle flash was not visible with conventional loads. Therefore its busted.

If I saw correctly, they used two rifles. The rifles they used appeared to be one of those Desert Tactical Arms bolt action bullpups and one of those Barrett bolt guns in .338.

How could this myth been better tested?

I'm no expert but a shorter barrel could have been used to create a larger and more visible muzzle flash, correct?

Both rifles they used had brakes. Do brakes reduce muzzle flash in any noticeable manner? If not, perhaps they at least redirect the flash making it less noticeable to the person downrange? Perhaps a plain muzzle would have created larger flash?

Also, calibers and powders. Any particular caliber or load that would inherently have a larger flash AND slower muzzle velocity?

Lastly and most obvious, doing the test in lower light conditions would obviously make the flash more visible.

Thoughts?

ETA:

A good summary of their findings
http://dsc.discovery.com/videos/mythbusters-the-matrix-sway.html

Outta Control
06-01-2011, 10:01 PM
From the last thread :D

http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=436414&highlight=mythbusters

I think their test is valid. Realistically the target would not be expecting a sniper at any particular time and where the shot will come from. So basically at the start it is a FAIL to event try to dodge a bullet coming from no where let alone you can even see the initial muzzle flash.

MrPlink
06-01-2011, 10:02 PM