PDA

View Full Version : I want to keep my "assault rifle" in California. What do?

roachliveinla
05-30-2011, 4:16 PM
'm an active duty military member currently stationed in Korea. My last base was Moody AFB, GA where I legally purchased and registered an M4 Rifle. I then got orders here, and it was placed in storage with the rest of my belongings. My next base is Vandenburg AFB, CA, and I'm to understand there is an "Assault Weapons Ban". My belongings are to ship automatically when I leave Korea, and I'm sure there will be some hiccups since the weapon is technically illegal (pistol grip, magazine well button, retractable stock). Is there anyway I could register the weapon or get a permit to have it? I've been looking for answers online all day and nothing seems to be clear as to how I can keep it (I'm no lawyer.) I don't want to have to modify it, its perfect the way it is and I just got it the way I wanted it before I had to leave.

It's a semi-auto and the brand... i really don't know. It's made in China. Here's a pic:

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.1136360264128.17650.1681003244#!/photo.php?fbid=1435254496297&set=a.1136360264128.17650.1681003244&type=1&theater

This law seems pretty senseless... What difference does brand make opposed to firearm type? I don't get it. Would it be an issue to have the "offending" items removed upon receiving them in California?

I just need to know all my options before I make the trip in a few months... Swapping out the pistol grip... fine. New magazine button... whatever.... But its doing crap like shaving off my bayonet lug and swapping the flash suppressor is when Ive had enough, I'll just have it shipped elsewhere.

mag360
05-30-2011, 4:24 PM
you don't have to change anything except you must put 10rd magazines in it and a bullet button if you want to keep the flash hider. bayonet lugs are not regulated.

Merc1138
05-30-2011, 4:27 PM