PDA

View Full Version : Can someone answer this CA/Federal legality question for me definitively?

chead
05-28-2011, 1:38 PM
Is it legal to own a select-fire trigger pack for an HK firearm while also owning a semi version of the same firearm? Note that the trigger pack will obviously not fit or function in the semi receiver without modification of either the receiver or trigger pack which is highly illegal. Does this still count as "constructive possession" either under California or Federal law?

I ask for maybe the weirdest reason yet seen on Calguns: I'm an artist and I'm working on a gallery show that includes several firearms. I'd like to include a select-fire HK trigger pack as an interesting object. It's interesting precisely because of the legal issues surrounding it. You can own the trigger pack, but it's nearly impossible to purchase a receiver that will accept it. In that sense the trigger pack is inert, and for me as a non-NFA eligible gun owner (thanks, California) totally useless, non-functional and in a sense no longer a "part" of a firearm.

The wrinkle is that I'd actually love to own an HK clone with no intent of putting the two together. I've been planning on a semi V51P as my next gun well before this gallery show was conceived. Again, the two could not be mated without illegal modification that would constitute the manufacture of a machine gun.

And why isn't there a "confused" post icon here on Calguns? :p

rareair
05-28-2011, 2:31 PM
I doubt it would be legal.

Maybe this can help you. Here's a few facts about owning a Drop-In Auto-Sear (DIAS) for the AR platform: