PDA

View Full Version : AR 15 Double Tap

Badkarma3015
05-27-2011, 9:03 AM
I am new to Calguns and I have an AR15 problem.

I have a DSarms lower and a DPMS lower parts kit. I have fired my AR a few time and never had a double tap but my friends have. Yesterday I was out shooting and my AR fired twice when I pulled the trigger. I changed the magazine and fired again and the same thing happened. I then pulled the trigger and held it back and then released and it fired again. It is not the magazine or the ammo I am using. I have check all the springs and they are in the correct place and not upside down.

Thank you for your help.

EBR Works
05-27-2011, 9:05 AM
You most likely have a problem with the disconnector or the associated spring. Take the FCG apart and fix it ASAP. Don't shoot it until this issue is resolved by you or a competent gunsmith. Have you done a function test on the lower?

How to do the function test is here at 4:40:

l4uiPXuyUAU

dieselpower
05-27-2011, 9:15 AM
I then pulled the trigger and held it back and then released and it fired again

worn hammer/disconnector trigger. When you release the trigger it releases the hammer, the disconnector trigger grabs the hammer and waits for the trigger to pull back again.
Replace your disconnector trigger and hammer.

Badkarma3015
05-27-2011, 9:18 AM
Yes I have done a function check and it works just fine.

dieselpower
05-27-2011, 9:25 AM
Yes I have done a function check and it works just fine.

No it doesnt...

There is a small notch on the bottom of your hammer where the trigger catches it after the disconnector lets it go. the hammer or trigger is not grabbing each other. Ignore my first post, if the weapon stop firing while the trigger is held back, the disconnector is fine..sorry not enough coffee.

dieselpower
05-27-2011, 9:28 AM
http://www.bushmaster.com/anatomy_bushmaster.asp