PDA

View Full Version : M4 Carbine Replacement: if it were up to YOU!

Asset
05-26-2011, 2:00 PM
These are all truly great rifles. Which one do you consider the best?

NorCalAthlete
05-26-2011, 2:35 PM
Other. HK416 is awesome but I like the INTEGRATED (read - not addon stuff like BAD levers) ambidextrous controls on the POF lowers. Having a mag release on the left side and bolt catch/release on the right side really appeals to me.

themailman
05-26-2011, 2:41 PM
HK 416, LMT Sopmod Stock. Barrel must be Gov Profile.

cmace22
05-26-2011, 2:59 PM
Something in 6.8mm

I have no experience with any of the platforms you have listed, but these would be good IMO:

HK 416
SCAR
Rem ACR
KAC
LWRC

If it were up to me Id love to see a bunch of LMT's in 6.8 being issued.

MrPlink
05-26-2011, 3:07 PM
most of these seem viable replacements. LWRC, SCAR, HK, REC7 I would put at the top.

sonnyt650
05-26-2011, 3:08 PM
Kel-Tec RFB -- bullpup but doesn't burn the lefty/righty holding it. If they were more readily available one would be mine right now. I guess I'd swap out the magazine with a DPMS-308 but that's about it.

MasterYong
05-26-2011, 3:21 PM
No Noveske?

Sad Panda.

acaligunner
05-26-2011, 3:33 PM
I would probably pick the SCAR/HK416, with plans to change the caliber to 6.5/6.8. Not that the 5.56 choice is a bad one, but it's a little light for 400 yrd and longer shots.

If we where going old school I would pick the IMI Galil. The rifle is combat proven, and comes in both 5.56/308.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v207/IPSC_GUY/GalilARM.jpg

acaligunner

cali_armz
05-26-2011, 3:36 PM
i have no experience with any of the rifles listed, although i have heard alot of very positive things about the SCAR.

personally, if i could have only one rifle id go with my AK47 in 7.62x39

kozumasbullitt
05-26-2011, 3:47 PM