PDA

View Full Version : Ak variant question

Slipshot
05-23-2011, 4:55 PM
I'm a newb here and to firearms as well. I was interested in buying an AK-47 or more specifically a variant ak as some call it. I was wondering what people's opinions were on Arsenal's SLG21. I've read numerous reviews online and they seem to be mixed. I'd rather get personal opinions from fellow Cali gun owners. Also what is the difference between an SLG21 and an SLG23? I couldn't find a solid answer for that online. Guess I should take a rifle handling class at some point to know what I'm getting into as well.

DudeDoug2000
05-23-2011, 5:05 PM
The SGL-23 has a mag lock already Installed, The SGL-21 If It's In California already most likely has a Bullet Button or the like already Installed but can be removed (Read the laws stay out of jail) I have the 23 because thats what my local gun shop had. Lot's of people hate It because of the Integrated mag lock, I don't mind It I have no plans to take this particular rifle out of state and don't need It for "Hi cap" mags have others for that. They are nice and are Russian but to be honest It's my one and only Arsenal and I won't buy another due to the cost. They are nice but the finish on them sucks but thats an easy to fix problem but do you really want to have to fix a 800$+ rifle... It seems most peoples beef with them come from the cost. I'll say this I have close to 4000 rounds thru mine with not one malfunction even with Tapco mags which people told me not to get. YMMV

CSACANNONEER
05-23-2011, 5:15 PM