PDA

View Full Version : noob sig522


KandyRedCoi
05-22-2011, 1:16 AM
hey y'alls, new here, cant believe it took me this long to sign up here :p

this forum seems to be very resourceful, and i think i might like it here :D

anyway, here is my NEW TO ME sig522...so far all is good, its mostly stock part from installing the rail kit and a tasco rds, mine came with the optional heavy barrel but to be honest ill probably never use it

this rifle is plenty accurate and a ton of fun to shoot. here are a few pics on my 1st outing (break-in) of this new plinker

sighted the rifle at about 40-50ft, deepest my local indoor range goes, didnt take too long as i had a friend helping me out
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v476/fluxmr2spyder/my%20firearms/3c1996db.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v476/fluxmr2spyder/my%20firearms/2c76b1cb.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v476/fluxmr2spyder/my%20firearms/0b28b506.jpg
used about 150rds of CCI Mini Mags

tbc...

KandyRedCoi
05-22-2011, 1:17 AM
so far my only gripe about the rifle is that the magazines WONT drop free!
if anyone here has any tips on how to get these darn mags to drop free please let me know. i would really appreciate it

2nd time out with the sig522 i had to reposition the scope and did a bit more sight adjustment, the rifle is still zeroed at 40-50ft and the groups are very good shot off hand
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v476/fluxmr2spyder/my%20firearms/334a5281.jpg

this next target has mixed shots from 3 of the guns i brought to the range that day Glock30SF, HP22A and my Sig522
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v476/fluxmr2spyder/my%20firearms/7278bbfe.jpg
we'll save the intro and quick review/range report on the other "toys" on another thread

thanks :)

Flyingpootang
05-22-2011, 7:03 AM
Click on the pic link in the first post. Evenly sand the outside area where the pen is pointing to....

http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=407029&highlight=sig

T3chnical
05-26-2011, 10:40 AM
I picked up my brand new 522 this past Tuesday (05.24.11) and I have the same problem with the tightness of the issued Sig mag. I followed the directions on slightly sanding down the mag posts and now its a much smoother release.

I just bought 4x BD mags and I sanded them down just a tad as well. Although its releases, I'd prefer a free-fall drop when pressing the mag-release.

Thanks for posting the pics on your first day. I'll try to do the same on my 2nd trip.

KandyRedCoi
05-26-2011, 10:48 AM
thanks, i ended up sanding the "magwell" on the receiver with a dremel, i believe its the black coating they put on the receiver to make the mags stick, now they are free falling, especially with the extra weight i put by adding MAGPUL on each magazine

i also ordered some Black Dogs and they fit good i will see how they cycle and feed once i get a chance to hit the range again
i have 3 factory 10rd mags and 2 BDM 10rd mags

one thing i noticed tho is that there is a last round bolt hold open, it still restricts the mag from dropping freely, but its much easier to pull out regardless

thanks for the link

KandyRedCoi
05-27-2011, 8:12 PM
heres min from todays range trip ~200rds @ 45ft with Tasco 1x Red Dot Sight no bench rest

grouping seems to be OK, but its like im either shooting low or high, kinda hard to ZERO the RDS with out having a rest so i did what i could

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v476/fluxmr2spyder/my%20firearms/10ec1a19.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v476/fluxmr2spyder/my%20firearms/478bf7c5.jpg

i dont think this is quite ready for an appleseed shoot, what u guys think?

bjl333
05-27-2011, 8:26 PM
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v476/fluxmr2spyder/my%20firearms/0b28b506.jpg

Coi, I think if you move the reddot sight forward about 3"-4" your group will improve a little bit. When having the reddot sight so close to you, your view of the target is blocked by the dot. Moving it forward will make the dot smaller in relation to the target.

KandyRedCoi
05-27-2011, 10:28 PM
thanks bro, i actually have since moved the RDS forward, it is now dead center of the top rail, then i re-zeroed it

any other thoughts? or is it just me LOL