PDA

View Full Version : Sac Co SO and POST questions

medicdude
05-09-2011, 1:47 PM
I am thinking about putting in an application for Sac SO.
I am currently a Paramedic and thinking about a career change.
Most, if not all, agencies require either a POST certificate or proof of enrollment in a POST program. Ive been on the POST website numerous times and maybe its just me but I am very confused as to how to enroll in a basic academy.
When I click any of the academy locations on the POST.ca.gov site, it just takes me to that agency's homepage. I emailed their recruiting guy a while back and he just sent me to the POST website. A vicious circle I tell ya!

Any ideas? Thanks.

medicdude
05-09-2011, 1:50 PM
also, if I find a place to take a PELLETB test, and submit my score, does the SO put you thru a POST academy?

socalblue
05-09-2011, 1:56 PM
also, if I find a place to take a PELLETB test, and submit my score, does the SO put you thru a POST academy?

If you were to be hired the agency would send you to an academy. Given the current hiring situation most agencies are only hiring laterals or POST certified people.

POST certified academy link:
http://www.post.ca.gov/basic-training-academies.aspx

Falconis
05-09-2011, 1:58 PM
To obtain the post certificate yourself, you have to enroll in an academy. More than likely a community college based one.

A Sac Co SO will have to answer the pelletb thing for you specifically. Most agencies will put you through the academy once you passed all their testing phases. The POST certificate you are probably asking about is a basic academy certificate. The 2 most common ways to get that are putting yourself through the academy or getting hired by an agency and having them put you through an academy.

scarry scarney
05-09-2011, 2:03 PM
Yes POST is confusing.