PDA

View Full Version : Another Roster question for our Legal Eagles

anoldguy
05-05-2011, 9:32 PM
I'm pretty new to Calguns, but need some guidance from someone with knowledge of our California laws.
Seeking advice regarding a ‘California off roster’ handgun and legal ways to acquire one. Let me pose a couple of theoretical to see if any of them would work.
1. Could I go someplace out of state, i.e. Reno or NV side of Stateline, visit a gun shop and make a purchase, and then wait the 10 days and retrieve the handgun. Then return home (let’s say Sacramento area). Would I have to go through some maneuvers so that it is registered now in California?
2. Same setup as previous item, but a FTF from a private citizen and do the DROS, wait the 10 days, and retrieve as above. Same question with regards to registering in California?
3. Is there any way to have mail-order of such handgun to an FFL either in California or outside as mentioned in #1 above?
Looking for a Bersa Ultra Compact in 9mm. Want just a little more poop than the California approved 380s. I like the features and the size. Any ideas please. THX in advance.

Or, does anyone know of one that is available in the Sacramento area for sale? That should simplify things greatly.

Librarian
05-05-2011, 9:57 PM
I'm pretty new to Calguns, but need some guidance from someone with knowledge of our California laws.
Seeking advice regarding a ‘California off roster’ handgun and legal ways to acquire one. Let me pose a couple of theoretical to see if any of them would work.
1. Could I go someplace out of state, i.e. Reno or NV side of Stateline, visit a gun shop and make a purchase, and then wait the 10 days and retrieve the handgun. Then return home (let’s say Sacramento area). Would I have to go through some maneuvers so that it is registered now in California?