PDA

View Full Version : AR-15 Accuracy Problems???

Z.1
05-05-2011, 4:26 PM
So I've been wondering about this for a while, thought I'd ask people more knowledgeable than me.

I built my first AR about a year and a half ago. CMMG lower, DD LPK, Spikes complete upper: 16" midlength, 1:7 chrome lined.

When I first shot it, I wasn't a pro but I didn't notice any problems. As I'm sure other can relate, I had a specific idea in mind for my AR, so I quickly added a Troy drop-in battle rail (MRF-DI). It is NOT free-float

When I installed the rail, I had some difficulty getting it to seat right. I noticed that my FSB seemed to be a little crooked - it cants slightly to the right when you look down the sights.

My problem is, I cant get a tight group with it. At 100 yds from a bench my shots are scattered all over the paper. Like I said before, I'm not a pro, so i'm sure my shooting technique can be improved, but I'm not bad with other guns, and others that have shot my rifle aren't getting tight groups either - kinda sprayed around the paper.

So my question is this - could the Troy rail be putting enough stress on the barrel because of the FSB that its affecting accuracy? I know this isn't a target rifle, but I should be at least groups within a few inches, no?

I've looked at the rifling - clean and no burrs as far as I can tell
I've looked at the crown - no problems that I can see
I've used some different types of ammo, and nothing seems to group real tight

Any suggestions or explanations would be much appreciated.

MasterYong
05-05-2011, 4:33 PM
So I've been wondering about this for a while, thought I'd ask people more knowledgeable than me.

I built my first AR about a year and a half ago. CMMG lower, DD LPK, Spikes complete upper: 16" midlength, 1:7 chrome lined.