PDA

View Full Version : Is an FFL needed to purchase an air rifle?

unimog_88
11-27-2006, 5:11 PM
I am new to air rifles. My first question is, is it necessary to buy an air rifle through an FFL? I guess the answer is no but it needs to deal with some local/municipal regulations.

The other question are:
1) Is an air rifle rated 1200 fps considered as very powerful?
2) Is it powerful enough to "crack" a car window glass with 1200 fps?

FatKatMatt
11-27-2006, 5:42 PM
I bought a BB gun off the internet and had it shipped straight to my door a while back, that was 600 FPS. I don't know the state or local laws for this so you're probably better off asking someone else. In my opinion, however, anything over 1,000 FPS is probably classified as "very powerful". Don't take that as legal advice though, just an educated guess.

xenophobe
11-27-2006, 5:53 PM
1200fps will easily go through a car windshield.

Air rifles can be bought and sold without any licenses.

ts
11-27-2006, 6:19 PM
Uh... you see MythBusters or something and want to do your own experment?

Note: MythBusters on Descovery Channel just had an experment where they shot a BB gun at the back of a car window to see if it will shatter - the myth was that if you place your hand on the window - it will not shatter. Myth Busted!

JHC
11-27-2006, 7:51 PM
My Gamo rifle is 1000 FPS and can break car glass, go through 5/8 OSB sheating, chickens, as well as other neighborhood varmints. BTW the car was mine, I'm no vandal:)

grammaton76
11-27-2006, 7:57 PM
My Gamo rifle is 1000 FPS and can break car glass, go through 5/8 OSB sheating, chickens, as well as other neighborhood varmints. BTW the car was mine, I'm no vandal:)

Got tired of seeing 'em wandering the street, eh?

JHC
11-27-2006, 8:21 PM