PDA

View Full Version : How to bring a Ca legal Saiga from NV

doomkitty
05-05-2011, 1:17 AM
Hello,
a friend of mine in NV gave me a Saiga 308 a few years back.
I am a CA resident and for all those years I thought Saigas were illegal in Ca so I just left it in NV and just go shoot it there pretty often.

But then I found Calguns.net, and the lists of prohibited rifles.
Turns out my Saiga is not branded Kalachnikiv USA but EEC from Cocoa, FL so that makes it legal in Ca!! (plz correct me if I'm wrong)

So of course now I want to bring it back to Ca with me. Is that ok to do so?
I haven't been able to find a clear answer in this forum.
I already own a shotgun and I was cleared by the DOJ to own a firearm.
I asked an FFL in Ca who told me I can just drive it home, I assume FFL's only process sales and this is not a sale.

but then I read many scary threads about getting in trouble with the law even with lawful rifles, so I wonder what would happen if I got pulled over and searched and looked up. I know, unlikely but not impossible, so I'd rather double check, since I'll be driving this rifle back and forth between Ca and NV a lot.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide on this topic.

mrvash
05-05-2011, 1:26 AM
I believe you would still have to DROS the rifle through an FFL.

Ed_Hazard
05-05-2011, 1:27 AM
Well if the Saiga is bone stock, in original sporting config, then you can just drive it home.

If the saiga was converted then you would trigger all the BB issues.

The gun is yours, in your name, and not listed as an a AW so bring it home.

Ed_Hazard
05-05-2011, 1:28 AM

I dont see why, unless he is selling the rifle to someone here. The rifle is allready in his name. He could do the Voluntary reg. if he wanted to.

EDIT: Well after rereading the OP, I'm sure the OP and his buddy went through an FFL at the time the Saiga was gifted to Him. ;)

Shady
05-05-2011, 1:30 AM

nooooooo

mrvash
05-05-2011, 1:31 AM