PDA

View Full Version : AR-15 FTE


CGK60
05-01-2011, 7:23 PM
Was getting FTE, replaced the extractor spring with a heavy duty one from Sprinco. took it to the range today and the same FTE. Used my sons bolt and rifle ran fine. Thinking of a new bolt? any ideas.

Josh3239
05-01-2011, 7:25 PM
So no problem cycling at all, just failing to extract? Will it extract if hand cycled? If it hand cycles fine there isn't a problem with the bolt.

CGK60
05-01-2011, 7:36 PM
Yes this time FTE and FTF it did hand cycle.

Josh3239
05-01-2011, 7:48 PM
If it hand cycles, but gas doesn't cycle it, it sounds like a gas problem. Does your buffer tube, buffer spring and buffer all match? What buffer? What barrel are you using? Gas system length?

emy
05-01-2011, 7:59 PM
chk gas key might be loose

Army
05-01-2011, 7:59 PM
Tighten the gas key.

Army
05-01-2011, 7:59 PM
Ahhhhh Emy! I see what you did there!

emy
05-01-2011, 8:10 PM
had it happen with me at the range didn't have the tool to tighten ,went home early

CGK60
05-01-2011, 9:40 PM
I did replace the buffer spring with a blue one from Sprinco. I'll go back to the original one and check the gas key.