PDA

View Full Version : If I don't clean my guns...

teamnoir
05-01-2011, 7:54 AM
Newbie here again...

If I don't clean my guns, in what way do they fail?

Do they just jam more often? Do they explode? Do they shoot less accurately?

If it makes any difference, I'm currently talking about ruger mark III and 10/22, although I intend to expand my collection as soon as I work through some newbie ignorance.

GSwain
05-01-2011, 7:55 AM
They probably won't cycle and will wear out faster.

hk91666
05-01-2011, 8:28 AM
Depending on the type of ammo fired may start corrosion in the barrel e.g. lousy accuracy .

dominic
05-01-2011, 8:32 AM
Cleaning is over rated. Moisture is the enemy not carbon or metal residue. I have a 10/22 thats probably 30 years old and I never cleaned it. It works fine. I just wipe it off and keep the moving parts lubed.

iareConfusE
05-01-2011, 9:26 AM
For some guns, reliability and accuracy decreases as carbon buildup increases. If you have a gun with tight tolerances, then you will want to keep it clean.

Izzy43
05-01-2011, 10:28 AM
GSwain said it. It will wear out faster. Don't need to clean it every outing but for Semi-autos I clean the action and chamber about every 1500 rounds to prevent loading, jamming and ejection problems. Clean the barrel when the accuracy goes south.

23 Blast
05-01-2011, 10:30 AM
Not cleaning your guns is a sin. Whenever you put a gun away dirty, God kills a puppy.

Seriously though, not cleaning a gun (which includes lubrication afterward) will eventually degrade accuracy as the bore gets more and more fouled, reduce reliability as the action and moving parts get more and more buildup, and will accelerate wear as the gritty particles wear on your gun like extremely fine grit sandpaper. It's kind of like routinely driving your car 10,000 miles between oil changes when the manual says change every 3,000. You can probably get away with it, but you'll wear out your car's engine faster and it won't run as well as it should.