PDA

View Full Version : BCM BCG for mid ar-15 doesn't always lock back after last round

protoolsnerd
05-01-2011, 2:40 AM
I've noticed that the BCM BCG i have is particularly strong. At times a bit hard to rack.

'Bout half the time the bolt doesn't lock back after the last round in a mag. It's happened with both pmags and sheet metal mags. I'm thinking it's that tough bolt, but i'm new to the ar scene.

Any suggestions? Anyone else with the same BCG that had this issue?

supersonic
05-01-2011, 6:08 AM
It's not the BCG causing this. Sounds like it is short-stroking. Is it possible you may have the wrong buffer spring in your receiver extension?

dieselpower
05-01-2011, 7:35 AM
^I disagree, since its not always happening. Its possible, just not probable.

what ammo are you using...EXACTLY what ammo?

Noobert
05-01-2011, 7:46 AM
Hard to rack? Is it lubed, and is it still hard to rack if you rack it without a magazine inserted?

r6raff
05-01-2011, 8:31 AM
Explain "hard to rack"

Is it just a bit resistant or do you need to pull on the CH with all you got? Can you take some pics of your BCG so we can see if there are any abnormal wear marks. Also most specifics on the Ammo, I would first say Mags, Short stroke due to ammo, short stroke due to incorrect spring/buffer combo, SS due to gas... but since you have trouble manually racking then it could be something else. Get that BCG wet, lube the inside of the upper receiver and see if that changes, it could be that something is out of spec and a bit to tight.

supersonic
05-01-2011, 8:58 AM
^I disagree, since its not always happening. Its possible, just not probable.

what ammo are you using...EXACTLY what ammo?