PDA

View Full Version : Do I need to polish my 1911's feed ramp?

SubieRX
04-30-2011, 7:49 PM
Hey all,

I thought I'd pose this question to all of you experts out there.

I have a Para Ordnance 1911 (SX1445 Limited). It comes with a "match barrel" in case that helps.

This is my only handgun as I am relatively new to pistols.

Here's what I've noticed:

After about 50 or so rounds, I notice that a lot of carbon builds up on the feed ramp. And I mean... a LOT. When I look into the open chamber, the metal surface of the ramp is no longer visible (except for a small spot where the bullet contacts the ramp itself - that is still visible).

Is this normal? Is it maybe the cheap range reloads that I'm using? I don't think I've ever shot any "high quality" rounds... mostly just range reloads and Winchester White Box when I can get it at Walmart.

The reason I ask is because it seems like after 100-150 rounds, I start to get feeding problems. For example, after I insert a fresh mag and close the slide, it will sometimes get stuck. When I look into the chamber, the round is pressed up against the feed ramp, but rather than "sliding up" into the barrel, its just jammed up into the ramp.

I think its pretty obvious that its due to the carbon build-up... but my question is.... is that carbon build up normal?

Will it go away if I get the feed ramp polished? I've posted some pics of the feed ramp after I took the gun apart and cleaned it.

I would love to get some advice from you guys. Thanks a ton!

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b248/SubieRX/1911%20Barrel/3-1-1.jpg

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b248/SubieRX/1911%20Barrel/1-1.jpg

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b248/SubieRX/1911%20Barrel/2-1.jpg

NiteQwill
04-30-2011, 8:16 PM
No, change your magazines.

Yes, carbon building up is normal, moreso if you use cheap ammo.

SubieRX
04-30-2011, 8:55 PM
Thanks for input.