PDA

View Full Version : Folded length

Sailormilan2
11-24-2006, 7:40 PM
Since the Cal DOJ minimums for a rifle is 30", after which it becomes a AW, does this length refer to the max length of the rifle, or the folded length if the rifle has a folding stock??

Prc329
11-24-2006, 7:46 PM
I believe it is folded length. I am no expert but I believe its the minimum length of your rifle. So that would be folded or collapsed.

SemiAutoSam
11-24-2006, 7:51 PM
My call on this is extended on a AR collapsible stock rifle or unfolded on a FN FAL PARA rifle.

Blue
11-24-2006, 7:55 PM
I believe it is folded length. I am no expert but I believe its the minimum length of your rifle. So that would be folded or collapsed.

I'm with you on this one. After it becomes an AW wouldn't that be 26-29"? Any shorter and it'd be NFA and any longer than 30 would be in the clear right?

NeoWeird
11-24-2006, 7:57 PM
My call on this is extended on a AR collapsible stock rifle or unfolded on a FN FAL PARA rifle.

That's the way I see it too. The ATF does it this way, and California doesn't clearify that they do it any different, so no reason to ASSUME they measure differently.

SemiAutoSam
11-24-2006, 8:05 PM
I think they went longer than the standard 26 inches just to make it a little harder to comply also so its a grey area after all what would a AR15 16 inch barrel be in length with a collapsible stock in both the extended and the collapsed length ?

since they don't specify they can say its measured how ever they want case by case basis right ?

Prc329
11-24-2006, 8:09 PM
since they don't specify they can say its measured how ever they want case by case basis right ?

That is pretty much why i would stick with folded length just to be on the safe side.

Sailormilan2
11-24-2006, 8:16 PM