PDA

View Full Version : Total noob at 1911's. Please school me O wise Calguns veterans...

joostin4
04-25-2011, 7:12 PM
I am pretty new to handguns in general, much less 1911's. However, after shooting my first 1911 a couple weeks ago at a local range, I could instantly understand why the massive appeal for this iconic platform.

Being new to handguns, I researched as much as I could before finally making my first handgun purchase. I tried to learn as much as I could and shoot as many models and calibers as I could get my hands on before I finally pulled the trigger :D I finally decided on a heavy, 9mm, all steel handgun for purposes of target shooting: a CZ SP01 (It's still being shipped). I also purchased a Ruger MKIII 22/45 for correcting my bad habits (per helpful advice from the Calguns forums).

Now after numerous trips to the local range I'm starting to get more and more interested in maybe purchasing a 1911 in the future. I've just started researching it and found that there is thankfully (and overwhelmingly) a SEA of information on 1911's. Especially mind-boggling is the endless number of brands variations of 1911's ranging from $500 to upwards of $3000.

This big difference in price worries me. Do the $500 and $3000 price points really indicate that big of a difference in quality? Can anybody point me towards a good beginner's 1911? Something that is practical, reliable, not overly expensive, but isn't cheap enough to be a possible lemon either? Any brands to stay away from? Any brand that are great values on the dollar? Any general tips on 1911's based on your experiences would be greatly appreciated... :)

sk8804
04-25-2011, 7:20 PM
The prices do mean a lot, such as match grade hand fitted barrels, and exotic finishes, but for a good starter 1911 you cant beat rock island armory pistols. $700 and a good gun.

Damiiaaannn
04-25-2011, 7:25 PM
What is your price range?

robcoe
04-25-2011, 7:28 PM