PDA

View Full Version : Building a AR-15

Adrian
11-19-2006, 11:38 PM
Not asking the typical where do I start, I see they have some info over on that AR-15 website and everything. My question is that should a complete newb at guns even try to build something like this? Would I even be able to do it or is this something you need to take to a gunsmith to build? Is it common sense thing or just something for somebody with a little more knowelege about laws an stuff. I wanted to buy a complete one but my girlfriend decided she wanted a quad instead :rolleyes: . So eathier I wait or do it little by little any other info would be awesome too btw.:D
-Newbie Adrian

PLINK
11-19-2006, 11:57 PM
I believe anyone who can use a hammer and a punch can assemble a lower. Most people will buy the upper complete. Most people on this site knew nothing about AR's a year ago. Now they know a ton and have built several lowers. Some of those people moved on to build AK's and FAL's which is a lot more work. Check out the link below. This is all you should need to build a lower.

http://www.ar15.com/forums/topic.html?b=3&f=4&t=226782

C.G.
11-20-2006, 12:19 AM
I believe anyone who can use a hammer and a punch can assemble a lower.

And some of them break them.;)

WokMaster1
11-20-2006, 8:21 AM
If your girl wants to buy a quad, then just get a lower receiver first. that part is considered a firearm because it has the serial number. Then if the DOJ decides to list, you have the "firearm" to register. Priority goes to girl. Nothing more "ho-hum" than a girl on a quad.:D

Get a Stag. They have really good customer service. One of the members here got a completely new lower from them after he broke off a piece of the receiver.

Anyone with 10 fingers, half a brain & basic tools can assemble a lower together. The directions on ar15.com is very good. Good luck.:)

mltrading
11-20-2006, 11:16 AM
I'd say build it yourself.