PDA

View Full Version : Buying a pistol in CA while temporarily in AZ

bluzman
04-22-2011, 4:17 PM
A friend (CA resident) just acquired a new pistol and wants to sell another pistol to offset some of the cost of the new one. I'm also a CA resident but I spend some of my time in AZ which is where I currently am (and will be for several more weeks). I want to buy the pistol he wants to sell. Is there a legal way to do this without me physically going back to CA or do we have to wait until I get back to do this deal? :confused::confused:

Josh3239
04-22-2011, 4:20 PM
Nope. With few exeptions you can only buy handguns in the state you are a resident of.

morrcarr67
04-22-2011, 5:11 PM
Nope. With few exeptions you can only buy handguns in the state you are a resident of.

He is a resident of California. He just isn't here at the moment.

A friend (CA resident) just acquired a new pistol and wants to sell another pistol to offset some of the cost of the new one. I'm also a CA resident but I spend some of my time in AZ which is where I currently am (and will be for several more weeks). I want to buy the pistol he wants to sell. Is there a legal way to do this without me physically going back to CA or do we have to wait until I get back to do this deal? :confused::confused:

To answer your question.

If your friend is hard up for the money and you trust him you could send him a check for the gun. You CAN NOT TAKE POSSESSION of it until you return to California and do a PPT at a LGS.

Josh3239
04-22-2011, 5:21 PM
I am not disputing any of that. He cannot buy it until he does a legal transfer in the state he is a resident of which is California, so obviously he has to physically be in California.

The answer above, my original answer, and your answer all the say the same thing. :rolleyes:

He is a resident of California. He just isn't here at the moment.

bluzman
04-23-2011, 12:06 PM