PDA

View Full Version : Military originally from CA just moved back...

Infantry H2
04-21-2011, 7:46 PM
So here it goes. First of all, this forum is really helpful when it comes to trasitioning back to Kalifornia gun laws. Now my rant! I am a combat veteran, trained to use firearms with escalation of force and rules of engagement in mind. Also, I am a person of good moral character and actually am a recruiter for the Army nowadays. I'm married with a 9 month old daughter and two well trained dogs. I guess you can say I'm an all American man. So tell me...why can't I get a freakin' CCW? I mean I've been through more stressful situations than most LEO's and have seen first hand the damage a bullet can do to another human being. I don't want any violence or to create it but I think I'd feel more appreciated if I were trusted by a Sheriff or Chief. Can't get a CCW but I bet if I wanted I can legally buy and grow marijuana just by telling a doctor a war story! What the hell has happened here? I was born and raised here in CA but I am no longer happy to say so, has common sense gone out the window?

Anyways, I can't win 'em all, so here's a few question I have for all of you.

I have 30rd mags issued to me by the military and an AR15 with a bullet button, can I even have the mags? I mean I use them for my profession but can I take them to the range to shoot? Any ideas?

Also, while living in the great CCW issuing state of Colorado where if you represent the red white and blue you can carry concealed all you like! I bought an XD45 and have 13rd mags, what's the deal with that?

An lastly, my Ruger LCP, LEO only in CA?! Was my carry pistol, can I have it or do I need to sell it to a cop because me being a soldier is not good enough?

dominic
04-21-2011, 7:52 PM
I hear you and thanks for your service. I'll be watching this thread, because you'll get some great advice from the good people here.

Librarian
04-21-2011, 7:54 PM