PDA

View Full Version : Are AK-47's legal in SoCal?

marxdspot
11-19-2006, 7:38 AM
Hi all.

I'm fairly new to my new shooting hobby and have been curious about the legalities of the AK in SoCal. I was just wondering if AK' s were legal in SoCal? I went to the local outdoor range yesterday and saw some guy shooting an AK...no doubt about it...a Yugo AK-47. I didn't bother going up to him to ask about the specifics/legalities of his gun. I noticed he had a small cap mag (probably 10 rnds or less) fixed, with a pisol grip, and fold under stock. This raised my curiosity.

Second questions, how are illegal weapons enforced? The reason why I ask is because, the officials at the range didn't seem to mind. The owner of the AK just came and went. So, in other words, how does someone get caught and actually get fined or go to jail (besides going out in public on a shooting spree) for owning an AK. This question pertains to normal ownership (via hobby collection) and use at the local range or at the city outskirts. Do cops go vice and snoop around every now or then at the ranges to see if anyone's shooting anything "evil"?

--your new novice shooter in need of wisdom

tenpercentfirearms
11-19-2006, 7:59 AM
LOL. This is such a great post that I can't help but give two responses. The first will be my smart arse response.

No, AK47s are illegal in so cal. You can only start owning a AK47 at north of Gorman. Illegal weapons are enforced when the cops force you to own one. If you have not been cited for not having one yet, then you are lucky.