PDA

View Full Version : Home Defense Rights

scorpio66
04-20-2011, 12:21 PM
Hello all, I'm a newbie to this forum and a female who lives alone. I live in Oakland, CA. and there seems to be a fair amount of break-ins in my neighborhood and I am armed with a Remy 870 and a Walther P99. However, I was searching this site in order to know my rights and the CA laws of defending myself while at home in case of a home invasion.

Is there a section on this forum that I am missing because I didn't see anything in particular to this? I just read on my neighborhood crime forum that 4 guys kicked in the back door of a homeowner while he was THERE and beat him up and robbed him. WTF, how does this happen? Because I can tell you that guys like this must have cojones! If someone tries this while I'm home, they are going to have one big surprise waiting for them by the name of Mr. 870.

What I'm really looking for is the actual literature for CA. law that spells out my rights to protect my home.

Thanks

GrizzlyGuy
04-20-2011, 12:29 PM
A good start is to read the actual statutes that relate to justifiable homicide: 197 PC (http://law.onecle.com/california/penal/197.html), 198 PC (http://law.onecle.com/california/penal/198.html) and 198.5 PC (http://law.onecle.com/california/penal/198.5.html). See also this (http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?p=4838992#post4838992) for additional clarification.

Stonewalker
04-20-2011, 12:33 PM
Basically it comes down to if you can articulate a reasonable fear of your life or grievous injury then lethal force is OK for self-defense. Defense of property with lethal force will generally land you with charges against you, even though the relevant PC says otherwise.

Somebody breaking into your house (especially at night, but also during the day) counts as reasonable fear for you life or grievous injury.

odysseus
04-20-2011, 12:39 PM