PDA

View Full Version : Public Transportation

penciljockey
04-15-2011, 3:49 PM
I was wondering if you can take a gun on a bus or the train legally? I'd say if it's locked and ammo is separate and locked, it should be fine. I think a handgun would be easier to transport unnoticed, but a rifle might be more difficult.

CalBear
04-15-2011, 4:00 PM
Generally, it's ok, though AB 2324 pass in the last session and was signed into law by herr Schwarzenegger, and that prohibits firearms in "sterile areas" of mass transit facilities:

http://totalcapitol.com/?bill_id=200920100AB2324

Dreaded Claymore
04-15-2011, 4:29 PM
I think a handgun would be easier to transport unnoticed, but a rifle might be more difficult.

Guitar case!

berto
04-15-2011, 4:57 PM
Unloaded. Locked. It's been done before.

SJgunguy24
04-15-2011, 5:23 PM
Unloaded. Locked. It's been done before.

This, many many many many times, like everyday I go to work.

Cobrafreak
04-15-2011, 8:41 PM
I'm a Transit Operator. Ride my bus locked and loaded, I won't say a thing :)

707electrician
04-15-2011, 9:15 PM
Ammo does not need to be in a separate locked container

Purple K
04-16-2011, 2:44 AM
I remember seeing Greyhound's literature that said no weapons, and wondering if it was policy or law.

ubet
04-16-2011, 5:33 AM
No carry on amtrak, has to be checked and stored, which is COMPLETE HORSE****!

penciljockey
04-18-2011, 10:52 AM
Thanks for your replies. I talked to a cop the other day and asked him about this. He said it would be fine as long as the gun was empty and locked and ammo in separate and locked container. He said the more inconspicuous the better was his advise, but it's not illegal to transport a firearm using public transportation.

Librarian
04-18-2011, 11:25 AM