PDA

View Full Version : AK question

glocker65
11-15-2006, 8:29 AM
So, I recently moved to Cal. Been reading up on the gun laws. I really want to buy a no-ban AK. Is there anything illegal about buying one in Nev. and leaving it on my property there? I am a CA resident, but the rifle would never enter CA.

Thanks!

NSR500
11-15-2006, 8:35 AM
If you do have Property in Nevada, purchase a legal firearm in that State and leave it there, you should be fine.

glocker65
11-15-2006, 8:37 AM
thats just what I wanted to hear! thanks!

NSR500
11-15-2006, 8:42 AM
A lot of people from California actually moved some of the stuff they did not want to register for SB23 to out of State properties.
I have a friend who has property in Reno with family staying there, so he leaves the non-neutered stuff there. Whenever he goes to visit Family, he cracks the safe and goes shooting in Free America.

glocker65
11-15-2006, 8:46 AM
yeah I just moved down here from WA. I had heard about Cal gun laws, but I had no idea how strict they were. Almost makes me want to move back to WA! But yeah, I think I am going to buy an AK before the ban expires and just keep it in Nev. I hope that I don't have any problems purchasing it with a CA ID.

Matt C
11-15-2006, 9:10 AM
yeah I just moved down here from WA. I had heard about Cal gun laws, but I had no idea how strict they were. Almost makes me want to move back to WA! But yeah, I think I am going to buy an AK before the ban expires and just keep it in Nev. I hope that I don't have any problems purchasing it with a CA ID.

...You will, and what ban?

glocker65
11-15-2006, 9:32 AM
I don't know what I was typing last post. What I meant to say was now that the ban has expired I want to get an AK... Diregard last post.

NSR500
11-15-2006, 9:46 AM
You will have a problem buying with a CA Id, just FYI...

mailman
11-15-2006, 9:52 AM
yea, you must give up your CA ID to obtain a NV ID and without one you can't buy a gun.

glocker65
11-15-2006, 10:42 AM