PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning

ts
11-14-2006, 3:00 PM
Let me start off by saying I have no gun cleaning experience but I would like to learn. I only have 2 guns as of now; AK-47 (7.62) with a chromed lined barrel and a UZI (9mm) with no chromed lined barrel. What are the best solvents and lubricants? I like to take care of the things I own really well. Are there any kits I should look into? What brands should I be looking for?

Thanks,
Tony

NSR500
11-14-2006, 3:17 PM
I've had good experience with stuff from Hoppes: http://www.hoppes.com/brands.asp?manufky=1000007
The suff from Birchwood Casey that I have used is good too: http://www.birchwoodcasey.com/sport/index.html

I usually go with whatever is on sale between the two.

ocabj
11-14-2006, 3:20 PM
Butch's Bore Shine or Montana Xtreme solvents and oils.

Dewey Rods

Tipton, Sinclair, or other quality bronze bristle and bronze core brushes

Bore guides

ts
11-14-2006, 3:21 PM
Thanks guys, price is not an issue - I just want the best stuff for my toys.

NSR500
11-14-2006, 3:27 PM
In my experience the chemicals do help, but it all comes down to technique and discipline. My friend used to buy all the latest cleaning crap for his AR. He thought he cleaned real good until I cleaned his so called "Clean" AR15.

VeryCoolCat
11-14-2006, 3:27 PM
Thanks guys, price is not an issue - I just want the best stuff for my toys.

LOL... you're going to clean an AK47?!?!? :D I mean... cmon.... many enemy combatants in afghanistan have old 1960s russian ak47s that have been used MANY times to fight others in their country, russians and now us.

They hide em in wood crates under the ground or stick them inside a crawlspace sized cave, deep in the montains. Then take em out and spray them. No Use in Cleaning an ak47 unless your using corrosive ammo which is probably more expensive than wolf.

rorschach
11-14-2006, 3:28 PM
Cleaning kit/rods (I'm partial to Outers, but I like the OTIS kit too)
lots of patches