PDA

View Full Version : AR15 - A problem with the upper, or something else?

Relyc
04-11-2011, 4:51 PM
I'm an AR15 novice and just finished assembling my AR15 and took it shooting yesterday. All of the parts are new. I bought the upper completely assembled.

Every shot was having problems with the bolt carrier not picking up the next round from the magazine after ejection. From what I could tell the bolt carrier is traveling back far enough to eject, but not quite far enough to catch the next round from the magazine. This is also apparent, since when the final round from the magazine is fired, the bolt carrier does not lock behind the bolt catch consistently.

By racking the charging handle after every shot, I'm able to successfully pickup a round from the magazine and fire/eject almost every time (over the course of 100 rounds or so, I did get about 5 ejection failures that were cleared by racking).

I tried:
- different brand magazines
- different brand ammunition (brand new Fiocchi and PMC)
- extra lubrication on the bolt carrier assembly and various other points of contact
- reducing the tension on the buffer spring
- checking the gas key for air flow, proper seating

There is an increase in resistance while pulling the charging handle, which I'm fairly certain is from the hammer applying upward pressure on the bolt carrier when racking (so you're not only fighting the buffer spring, but also the hammer spring while racking). Due to my limited experience with AR15's, I'm not sure if this is normal or not.

I took some photos and can take more if it might help provide more insight to the problem. Let me know what you'd like a shot of and I'd be happy to take it.
https://picasaweb.google.com/100303681357199947860/AR15Problem#

So, what do the experts think about this?

Bete Noire
04-11-2011, 5:03 PM