PDA

View Full Version : Help with AR varmint load

thisismyboomstick
11-12-2006, 1:31 PM
I'm just beginning with the whole reloading thing and I'm not having very good luck. I am trying to develop a good varmint load for my AR. The rifle has just a standard 1/9" twist chrome lined heavy Bushmaster barrel. Bushmaster says the lightest bullet that will cycle the AR reliably is a 50gr so that is what I started with. I'm using 50gr moly V-max's, LC01/02 brass, CCI primers, and surplus 4895. I loaded three batches of ten with 24.0, 24.5, and 25.0 grains of powder that I weighed individually.

My problem is that the reloads fly all over the place when they are loaded 3 at a time in the mag and fired in succession. If I load them individually they group well. About 1" @ 100yds. This led me to believe the problem was with the bullets being disturbed in the magazine by the rifle's recoil. Or maybe the cycling of the action. I didn't crimp them at all after seating the bullet for the first go around. I then put a crimp with a Lee factory crimp die on the next group of three I tried which didn't help at all. This rifle groups just fine if I fill the mag full of M193 so I know it's not the rifle. I'm using Lee equipment.

Any recommendations?

If anyone has a good varmint load they'd like to share I'd appreciate that as well.

Thanks

Fjold
11-12-2006, 5:11 PM
I'm loading the 50 grain VMax with 25.5 grains of H4895 (not surplus) in my 9" twist barrel and it will group 5 into less than 3/4" at 100 yards.

Matt-man
11-13-2006, 10:45 PM
Are your bullets getting damaged on the way into the chamber? I've seen A-maxes with damaged tips fly off into the next county when fired.

Fjold
11-14-2006, 6:16 AM
Are your bullets getting damaged on the way into the chamber? I've seen A-maxes with damaged tips fly off into the next county when fired.