PDA

View Full Version : Grip Straps - legal question

Richard Erichsen
04-09-2011, 4:31 PM
I'm seeing an increasing number of folks using Kydex grip straps to comply the AW law - specifically rendering the grip non-wraparound and at least a lot less conspicuous a grip than it would be otherwise, though could be interpreted as below the action despite this. I'm no expert on statutory construction, but is it AND in this instance, or OR?

The Kydex itself is screwed together, perhaps epoxy bonded as an alternative. Is anyone aware of any case law that has resulted in the grip strap being deemed in compliance? Is there a pending decision with the DOJ on the same topic?

I worry that I'll finish a build, head to the shooting range with my featureless, grip strapped equipped weapon only to have an off-duty LEO decide it's an AW. Given the threads discussing how to not get arrested for your OLL starts with making sure to not do something foolish or build a weapon that gets attention, I'm wondering if grip straps are indeed sufficient at this point in time. The salient point too is to avoid opening your yap among people whose task it is use any words you may happen to speak against you.

I understand the DOJ has not yet formally decided to accept that grip straps do not fit the definition of a wraparound grip or a conspicuous pistol grip below the action, at least that I'm aware of. Intuitively, grip straps do not fit the definition, but going by intuition when it comes to legal decisions is a recipe for disaster. I also understand getting the DOJ to rule on these topics decisively (without overstepping or failing to conclusively and consistently address the issue) are at best problematic. Is anyone aware of a pending decision with a high level signature that says otherwise?