PDA

View Full Version : My New Ruger Sr-556

biggalvan1
04-08-2011, 5:55 PM
Hello all im a noob yes i know. But ive been a lurker for a bit . I recently took my new ruger sr556 out to the range for a lil break in . I was shooting some brass american tactical 5.56 65 gr no prob .Then i tried some cheap tula i got at wallys and the steel case got stuck. I also tried some wolf it shot some but the cases kept getting stuck . The extractor was ripping the lip of the steel case off. Im wandering if its just the steel case ? Just went out and got 400 rnds of federal american eagle brass hopefully they work fine.

NorCalRedneck
04-08-2011, 6:02 PM
I primarily shoot Tula out of my AR and every few hundred rounds I will get a stuck case. I figure its just because its cheap ammo so I don't expect perfection. But it sounds like yours is doing it more than every few hundred rounds. Some guns just don't like Russian ammo.

missiontrails
04-08-2011, 6:04 PM
Were you running on gas setting 2? Try setting #3 with that ammo.

http://i1220.photobucket.com/albums/dd451/dehlers1/aff86bcc.jpg

biggalvan1
04-08-2011, 6:13 PM
Yes i was on setting 2. Will try setting 3 next trip I wander why the brass had no problem?

missiontrails
04-08-2011, 6:22 PM
Refer to the thread I started here:

http://www.calguns.net/calgunforum/showthread.php?t=418056

Droppin Deuces
04-08-2011, 6:37 PM
Should have bought an Adams Arms...

missiontrails
04-08-2011, 6:44 PM
Should have bought an Adams Arms...

Every Magazine out there has given the SR-556 cudos... That Adams looks decent, but its still not a factory platform rifle, it's an adapter kit build. Not a knock on it, just sayin.....

Droppin Deuces
04-08-2011, 6:48 PM
Every Magazine out there has given the SR-556 cudos... That Adams looks decent, but its still not a factory platform rifle, it's an adapter kit build. Not a knock on it, just sayin.....