PDA

View Full Version : Prohibited persons and archery

Hunt
04-06-2011, 5:12 PM
I know this guy that was diagnosed with schizophrenia, he was determined by MD during a Court ordered 14 day hold, to be "gravely disabled". This fellow has made tremendous progress in managing this illness, I wanted to take him archery hunting, can he legally possess a bow and arrow as a prohibited person?

Maestro Pistolero
04-06-2011, 5:17 PM
Maybe just give him the arrows with the little rubber suction cups the first few times out, just to see how he does.

El Toro
04-06-2011, 5:27 PM
Im not a doctor, nor am I more than passingly acquainted with schizophrenia. I had a friend who suffered from Bi-polar disorder and that is the extent of my experience with mental illness.

That said, IMHO, persons who suffer mental disorders, even when receiving medication, are not able to function as you or I. They are often a danger to others and themselves. Their illness can be triggered or manifest itself at a moments notice. In short, they're unpredictable. Don't try to be their mental or physical crutch. Your intentions may be good, but it cannot help them and may even hurt them. I believe all person with mental deficiences/illness should be disqualified from a wide range of activities that "normal" people can do. Sorry, it's just my opinion.

Oh, and with regards to my good friend?...if he ever came to my door, I would arm myself.

Regards

Hunt
04-06-2011, 5:33 PM
anyone know the law on this, I understand why people have their opinions but I am trying to find the law.

taperxz
04-06-2011, 5:33 PM
Yes

Hunt
04-06-2011, 5:37 PM
Yes

the firearms prohibited person may use a bow and arrow? Can you explain your certainty? thanks "taperxz"

anthonyca
04-06-2011, 5:38 PM