PDA

View Full Version : Flying with Firearms. Discrepancy in info regarding TSA access to locked guncase?

Untamed1972
03-29-2011, 2:50 PM
I have had some varying experiences lately when checking firearms at the airport. I copied this over from another thread because I thought it best have it own title.

My main question is about what the actual TSA policies / Federal law is regarding how TSA may inspect your firearm case and if it must be inspected in your physical presence.

There seems to be a discepancy between the aforementioned "handouts" at ( http://deviating.net/firearms/
) and the actual TSA website. The bolded portion below is NOT on the handout, but does seem to be a critical peice of information.

http://www.tsa.gov/travelers/airtravel/assistant/editorial_1666.shtm

We recommend that you provide the key or combination to the security officer if he or she needs to open the container. You should remain in the area designated by the aircraft operator or TSA representative to take the key back after the container is cleared for transportation. If you are not present and the security officer must open the container, we or the airline will make a reasonable attempt to contact you. If we can't contact you, the container will not be placed on the plane. Federal regulations prohibit unlocked gun cases (or cases with broken locks) on aircraft.

This does not say anything about the bag having to be screened in your physical presence. As was my experince in San Diego, they wanted the key but there was no publicly accessible screening area for them to open the case in my presence.

Can I get some clarification on this?