PDA

View Full Version : Lowering CCW fees

Tier One Arms
03-25-2011, 2:31 PM
The cost of getting a CCW is too expensive, what is being done to lower CCW fees?

stix213
03-25-2011, 2:39 PM
How about we get to the part where everyone can at least get one before we worry about fixing the relatively minor details?

Tier One Arms
03-25-2011, 2:41 PM
While I agree that shall issue is important, as a resident of Kern County, I can get one pretty easily, but as a college student I can't easily afford it.

G60
03-25-2011, 2:50 PM
Kern county doesn't charge any fees over what is allowed by law. You'll probably be out of college by the time the fees allowed by law are changed.

Decoligny
03-25-2011, 3:14 PM
And Kern County doesn't charge a single penny until your good cause has been approved. If your good cause is disapproved, you don't pay a penny. Most other counties take the processing fee (non-refundable) up front, at the very least.

Tier One Arms
03-25-2011, 3:22 PM
Having to pay $166 is to much, plus you have to pay another $100 the ccw class. There should be no training requirement, and the fee's should be slashed in half.

wildhawker
03-25-2011, 3:23 PM
And Kern County doesn't charge a single penny until your good cause has been approved. If your good cause is disapproved, you don't pay a penny. Most other counties take the processing fee (non-refundable) up front, at the very least.

Kern's policy is somewhat convenient but inconsistent with the Penal Code. They must accept the application - though they don't have to collect local fees - and collect fees for the DOJ background check, as well as collect and forward fingerprints for same.

dantodd
03-25-2011, 3:28 PM
Having to pay $166 is to much, plus you have to pay another $100 the ccw class. There should be no training requirement, and the fee's should be slashed in half.