PDA

View Full Version : AR15 piston upper gas block?


tanda10506
03-25-2011, 8:52 AM
Will a YHM low profile gas block and diamond series rail work on a gas piston upper?

Outta Control
03-25-2011, 9:32 AM
As far I know you can't because most piston driven upper has its own gas block. This are used to regulate the amount gas needed to drive the piston.

goodlookin1
03-25-2011, 9:51 AM
Osprey might work.

tanda10506
03-25-2011, 10:03 AM
That sucks. It's a 16" barrel, I can still use a carbine length quad rail handguard though right?

RRichie09
03-25-2011, 10:07 AM
That sucks. It's a 16" barrel, I can still use a carbine length quad rail handguard though right?

You should really just contact the manufacturer. The gas systems are all different and compatibility with rail systems is a case by case deal.

Don't forget to post up what they say so we know what brand of gas piston system works with what rail.

Outta Control
03-25-2011, 10:18 AM
That sucks. It's a 16" barrel, I can still use a carbine length quad rail handguard though right?

The rail might work but I was more taking about the gas block.



BTW: MEGA had a low profile Adams Arms piston kit. Talk with them and see if it could work for your rail.

Droppin Deuces
03-25-2011, 10:45 AM
As far I know you can't because most piston driven upper has its own gas block. This are used to regulate the amount gas needed to drive the piston.

Which gas piston upper are you looking at?

Outta Control
03-25-2011, 11:22 AM
Not looking. I already have a custom Adams Arms piston for my MEGA Monolithic Rail.

Droppin Deuces
03-25-2011, 11:28 AM
Not looking. I already have a custom Adams Arms piston for my MEGA Monolithic Rail.

Oh, I don't know why I quoted your post. Weird. I was actually asking the OP.

tanda10506
03-25-2011, 12:16 PM
I have the CMMG gas piston set up, I bought the rifle from them like that.

Droppin Deuces
03-25-2011, 1:02 PM
Just looking at pictures, it looks like it would be a very tight fit. But all you need to do is send CMMG an email and ask them. They should know which of the most common rails will or will not work with their piston system.

stormy_clothing
03-25-2011, 3:13 PM
Just looking at pictures, it looks like it would be a very tight fit. But all you need to do is send CMMG an email and ask them. They should know which of the most common rails will or will not work with their piston system.

They have a k7 rail they sell it's 1 piece thats light and works well. You can easily modify many to fit. also the troy trx should fit too.