PDA

View Full Version : So explain things to a NorCal hunting noob.

MikeK
10-24-2006, 5:00 PM
What do I need to get started?

Do you need a license to hunt everything? ie. pigs, coyote, etc?

Where are good places for drive in hunting?

Sorry. Said I was a noob. :D

FatKatMatt
10-24-2006, 5:13 PM
You need to take a class to get certified to hunt. Mine was 9 hours (over three days mind you), after that they give you a test and if you pass you're given "Hunter Education Certification" card. You have to get that validated, which costs $3.40. Then you have to get a license, and then a tag for the animal you want to hunt, and for what zone you will be hunting in. The gov't makes a bundle off of this stuff.

Overkill
10-24-2006, 5:42 PM
What part of Nor Cal are you in?

MikeK
10-24-2006, 7:59 PM
What part of Nor Cal are you in?
Upper Napa Valley

joel1316
10-25-2006, 11:54 AM
Do you need a license to hunt everything? ie. pigs, coyote, etc?

Basically in California, if its got fur, you need a license.

C.G.
10-25-2006, 1:15 PM
You need to take a class to get certified to hunt. Mine was 9 hours (over three days mind you), after that they give you a test and if you pass you're given "Hunter Education Certification" card. You have to get that validated, which costs $3.40. Then you have to get a license, and then a tag for the animal you want to hunt, and for what zone you will be hunting in. The gov't makes a bundle off of this stuff.

You can also take a "re-fresher" course, which I think was half the time but if I remember correctly the cost was the same.

johnny_22
10-25-2006, 2:17 PM
But, you study at home using web sites, and need to present a certificate ($15) showing you passed the on-line class. Also $10 for the State test in class. So the cost is higher, but you spend less time in the classroom. Didn't see any classes up in Napa. The lists is at:

http://www.dfg.ca.gov/huntered/he_classes.html#homestudy

anotherone
10-26-2006, 12:00 AM
Upper Napa Valley