PDA

View Full Version : ar15 rimfire conversion

JonnyGSX
03-15-2011, 6:07 PM
please excuse my ignorance here, im new to the state and really having trouble understanding the laws when it comes to modifications.

I'm interested in buying an ar15 style rifle with a .22lr conversion. I don't plan to shoot .223 in california but have family back home in prairie dog country and would like to be able to swap bolts. If I bought a rifle that was already converted to .22lr and did not have the .223 bolt with it am in in the clear then? Or is it still considered an AW? The way I understand it a rimfire rifle is exempt from all of the AW bans?

Again im sorry to be asking this again, im sure its been answered elsewhere but I was struggling to find specifics.

Flyingpootang
03-15-2011, 6:29 PM
The caliber doesn't make it an AW, it's the make/model lower that does. You can buy an Off List Lower (OLL) and put all the evil features you desire on a .22 set up. To transition to a .223/5.56 upper you must first install a bullet button and a 10 round mag. All of the evil features are allowable with this type of mod. Installing a 30 round or forgetting to put on the bullet button will make an OLL an AW..

JonnyGSX
03-15-2011, 6:34 PM
Ok but what if i have a .223 upper but with a .22lr bolt. I'm in the clear then right? Even though the upper still says .223?

Flyingpootang
03-15-2011, 6:36 PM
Only the serialized part/lower is considered a firearm, so it doesn't matter what the barrel says.

OHW
03-16-2011, 8:43 AM
Put a bullet button on it. It takes about 1 minute to change it when you are out of state. 1 minute to put the BB back on when you come home.

JonnyGSX
03-16-2011, 9:39 AM
Put a bullet button on it. It takes about 1 minute to change it when you are out of state. 1 minute to put the BB back on when you come home.

But i don't need a BB on a rimfire. And just having a BB doesn't allow evil features does it?

OHW
03-16-2011, 10:19 AM