PDA

View Full Version : .22 Marlin rifle scopes?.....

RickyB
03-06-2011, 10:17 AM
All right Kidz, I'm a total noob on this subject. Really, even after reading a hundred-plus fricken pages on optics all over the 'net I still feel like Stevie Wonder searching for the light switch. So here's what I'd like to know----what would be the best scope choices (new or used, & under $70.00 each?) for 'plinking/paper punching' on our new 795 and the 925RM? And which mounting system for each one? The one for the 22 mag needs to be good for up to say 125/150 yards, and for the 22 lr., out to around a hundred yards or so.

Any and all suggestions would be most appreciated........

Gracias,

Ricky

pennys dad
03-06-2011, 11:44 AM
i have used the basic tip off mounts for my Marlins and I have had issue with the mount wiggling loose.
So I suggest this mount: http://www.pyramydair.com/s/a/Leapers_Accushot_1_Pc_Mount_w_1_Rings_3_8_Dovetail/805

Its cheap and the strongest I have found. I use them on my Marlins.

I use
BSA: http://www.opticsplanet.net/bsa-air-riflescope-2-7x32mm.html
Simmons: http://www.opticsplanet.net/simmons-4x32mm-prohunter-handgun-scope.html
Bushnell Banners
Tasco and
for $140 - Redfields

RickyB
03-06-2011, 12:39 PM
Wowch, the Pyramid mounts are only $15.00 each? That seems very inexpensive to me but the 50+ reviews are almost all 5 stars. Perfect. Off the top of your head will they also fit the 925RM? Does Marlin use the same dovetail grooves on all their centerfire rifles?....

(edit----'cuz one guy said it may not work well with bolt actions. To low?)

orangeusa
03-06-2011, 12:54 PM
Wowch, the Pyramid mounts are only $15.00 each? That seems very inexpensive to me but the 50+ reviews are almost all 5 stars. Perfect. Off the top of your head will they also fit the 925RM? Does Marlin use the same dovetail grooves on all their centerfire rifles?....

(edit----'cuz one guy said it may not work well with bolt actions. To low?)