PDA

View Full Version : What is the proper way to lap scope rings?

keninsb
03-02-2011, 5:22 PM
First of all, I want to apologize in advance, this is my first post on this site (I am a rookie member) and am sure this has probably been posted before. I did a quick search, but could not find any threads that answered my questions. So if this subject has been convered to death or if I posted in the wrong forum I sincerely apologize.
That being said, I have a Remington 700VTR .308 that I am converting to a tacticlal rifle. I have purchased some good Leupold PRW Perma Rings and a Precision Reflex Mount. I have done a TON of research of scope lapping and think I have a grasp on how to proceed but still have a couple of questions.
I have a scope lapping kit from Russ Hayden's Shooter's Supply (http://www.shooters-supply.com/web_specials.html). The directions on the lapping tool advise you to lap only the bottom rings, while Midway (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XWv7SiBheV0) advises to install the upper rings and lap the upper and lower rings at the same time. It seems like lapping both upper and lower rings makes more sense (even though it looked like the Midway video looked like they took too much material off the rings). I mean the more contact, the better right?
I am tempted to do the uppers and lowers but take off about 75%. Does that sound like a good approach?
On another subject, I was wondering if it is a good idea to LocTite the front and rear trigger guard screws. I am assuming that it is but just wanted to run it by everyone.
Sorry for the stupid questions. Any help is greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Ken (calguns rookie)

bridgeport
03-03-2011, 5:24 AM
Hi Ken, your question is valid, let me help you with it.
The reason you only need to lap the lower rings, is that that is the anchor, or solid point of alignment. The upper rings then "sit" on the lower rings and normally have enough play to align themselves as they sit on the lower rings.... get what I'm saying?