PDA

View Full Version : FN SCAR 16S versus Bushmaster ACR Part 2

JohnnyRooks
02-26-2011, 7:50 AM
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5216/5475143413_283904248a_b.jpg
http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5017/5476373468_0a709b13cb_b.jpg

Since the first thread of the SCAR versus ACR was deleted i'm making a new one to continue the discussion.

N.B. I'm no firearms expert and it is just my personal opinion. So don't shoot me.:D

I got to chance to shoot and compare my FN SCAR againt's CRTguns Bushmaster ACR. Shooting my SCAR is like a dream, recoil is light, accuracy is good. Ergonomics wise it's kinda bulky and fat but it's a non issue for me. First impression with the ACR in the gun store.. well it's front heavy and not well balanced. I feel like my arm was sore after holding the gun for a few seconds since i am using thumb over bore technique or some called it Chris Costa Mall Ninja Technique or whatever. I feel like it's flimsy and an overated gun after Shrubmaster took over the project Masada. I'm not gonna go more into details of the takedown or whatever cosmetics since it is not purpose of this thead.

Then we take turns shooting our guns and CRTguns handed me his ACR. I was like wait a second.. this ain't the gun i handled a few weeks back. It is much lighter weight around 6-7 lbs. Yes he heavily modified the gun like cutting off the barrel and pinned a muzzle brake to make it shorter but legal. Took off metals that hanging off the barrel and shave off several pounds/ounces. CRTguns will explain more on his mods when he chime in later. The ACR is well balance that it is no longer front heavy.

So i grab a mag and start blasting off those VTAC target. My first impression was like.. woooooooo it feels like i am shooting a .22LR and my grouping from 25 yards was tight. Considering my skill level is like shooting a birdshot shotgun groups most of the time. :D