PDA

View Full Version : AR 22 Conversion

Wycoff013
02-20-2011, 12:29 AM
This topic has probably been tackled, but I am new to AR's and have seen conflicting info. My question is what is needed to convert a .223 AR to 22? When I have seen kits, they come with a mag and BCG. Is this it, or do you have to change out the barrel too?

Mssr. Eleganté
02-20-2011, 12:33 AM
This topic has probably been tackled, but I am new to AR's and have seen conflicting info. My question is what is needed to convert a .223 AR to 22? When I have seen kits, they come with a mag and BCG. Is this it, or do you have to change out the barrel too?

If you are just using the conversion kit that comes with the replacement bolt and magazine then that is all you need. You use the regular barrel that is already on your upper.

The dedicated .22LR complete uppers come with a barrel that has a different rifling twist ratio to improve accuracy.

Wycoff013
02-20-2011, 1:27 AM
Thanks, I didn't know if the smaller 22 round would cause issues with the barrel.

danger707
02-20-2011, 2:14 AM
I got another question

if I use the .22 conversion on my .223 AR do I have to keep the bullet button or can I remove it?

o0RedEyE0o
02-20-2011, 9:23 PM
Good question.

My guess is that the bullet button has to stay since the rifle still has the chractistics and "evil parts" regaurdless of the caliber.:confused:

TheDeej
02-20-2011, 9:30 PM
While the list of evil features states a reference to centerfire rifles only, I would not try to go without a bullet button seeing that the rifle could be converted back to centerfire in seconds. An S&W MP 15-22 can have all the evil features you want and no bullet button but it also cannot convert to centerfire at the drop of a dime.

KING_PALM
02-20-2011, 10:41 PM
No BB for rimfire.
and there is only one option when it comes to anything rimfire.
Tacsol is the best of the best when it comes to making rimfire anything.
also RG has it the cheapest out of anywhere.