PDA

View Full Version : Stack-on safes ????

wbrosha
02-09-2011, 12:31 PM
How are they? I've seen some that look like total POS's and then i've seen some that actually look really nice and at a good price point. I would like some feedback? I need another safe.. but unfortunately cant spend too much? What other options are out there?

j.primo
02-09-2011, 12:42 PM
Snap on makes safes? I thought they only made high end tools.

BANG BANG
02-09-2011, 12:52 PM
Snap on makes safes? I thought they only made high end tools.

Same here, I work in the auto collision business and have never seen a safe in their catalogs

rromeo
02-09-2011, 1:03 PM
Probably means Stack-On.

wbrosha
02-09-2011, 1:03 PM
MY bad guys i was looking at my tools while typing and got mixed up i meant Stack-on!

IntoForever
02-09-2011, 1:10 PM
Stack on are decent. I have one wedged in a closet and bolted on 4 sides. I would opt for something a little more pry bar resistant if it was out in the open. Just don't get the one that's only 12" deep, trust me, the lack of space sucks.

BayAreaShooter
02-09-2011, 2:39 PM
If you me STACK-ON than I would say they will fit the bill. They also make gun cabinets that offer no real protection except from maybe a 10 year old. I would have no problem buying a STACK-ON fireproof safe.

johnny_22
02-09-2011, 3:48 PM
It was a good first safe. My mistake was to get the non-fireproof safe. After reading an article I now know that even in the suburbs minutes from the fire department, 60 minutes should be the minimum fire protection.

Apparently, the 30 minute safes that are so common are working on the average time for response and fire out. With my luck, there will be a above average fire at my home.

I have been looking at the Elite JR. safe at Reed's. The safe looks perfect for my handguns.

http://www.stack-on.com/categories/elite-safes/products/36

Of course, that would mean another 30 minute safe. But, the price is attractive.

wbrosha
02-10-2011, 6:05 PM