PDA

View Full Version : Ranges near LA for beginner "experience" days?

britboy
02-06-2011, 7:12 AM
Hi guys - slightly odd question perhaps, but I'm a Brit who's going to be on holiday in LA for a few days later this month and one of the things I would love to do while I'm there is visit a range where I can try my hand at shooting a variety of firearms.

I've had a pretty good look through the forums and while there are lots of links to different ranges, the focus seems to be on places where you bring your own hardware; I'm really looking for somewhere I can just turn up and do some (very heavily supervised) target shooting with a range of firearms, preferably a good interesting mix of pistol, rifle, semi-auto, auto etc.

I used to shoot regularly with .22 rifles, and some slightly larger bore from time to time, in my school cadet corps and I've done some clay pigeon shooting since then too on stag weekends. So I'm not a complete novice, but I've never shot pistol or fully automatic before and would love to give both a go if possible.

I don't know how feasible this is, or if CA gun laws even allow foreigners to turn up and hire weaponry on the spot, but I figured I'd ask - apologies in advance if this is completely naive of me.

I'll be driving south down the 395 to reach LA so anywhere along the way would be perfect, but anywhere within easy drive of the city itself would be fine too.

Thanks in anticipation,
BB

den888
02-06-2011, 8:04 AM
There are many ranges in Southern California that rent weapons. I believe that you would need to be accompanied by another adult to rent a weapon. I am not sure what other rules are in place. You should call the range you want to visit and inquire.

A range that rents firearms is Insight Range in Artesia and there are many others.

http://www.insightrangeinc.com/