PDA

View Full Version : Dove Opener- Limits

tankerman
09-01-2006, 1:07 PM
Hit up San Diego (east of Julian). Lots of birds not many people. Great morning. Back home in Newport Beach by noon, with limits.

Overkill
09-02-2006, 6:28 AM
I went dove hunting last night for the first time (I,m more of a pheasant hunter). Waited for a couple hours with very little activity. As soon as it started getting dusk, things really heated up. In the hour that followed and many shells fired, the six of us hunting had 59 birds. I've never had so much fun hunting!

LASC
09-02-2006, 9:04 AM
Hit up San Diego (east of Julian). Lots of birds not many people. Great morning. Back home in Newport Beach by noon, with limits.

Good job tankerman. Sounds like you had a great time. I am planning a trip as well, maybe in 2 weeks time. I am new to the whole hunting scene. Could you give me a little more detailed direction to the place u mentioned? Thanks in advance!

Hunter
09-02-2006, 1:06 PM
Good job tankerman. Sounds like you had a great time. I am planning a trip as well, maybe in 2 weeks time. I am new to the whole hunting scene. Could you give me a little more detailed direction to the place u mentioned? Thanks in advance!

Better go sooner, season closes Sept. 15th.

sargenv
09-02-2006, 9:27 PM
Well, we managed 18 Dove and 2 lost in the rice that the dog couldn't retrieve. It wasn't that busy for us though a few sneaked by us that we didn't expect. However 5 people scored 50 on Dad's Duck club up near Willows.

Vince

elsolo
09-02-2006, 10:25 PM
Opening day dad and I got our limits in under an hour. Saturday wasn't as good, many more people and fewer slow and low flying birds, duh. Location was Blyth, so I also got to catch some fish and do some wakeboarding (first time).

Cold Feelings
09-05-2006, 12:38 PM
We went out by Thermal this year. Lots of Dove and lots of hunters. Shot my limit and for once I found them all.

BigMac
09-06-2006, 4:27 PM