PDA

View Full Version : Problem building my first rifle, please help

Yeemix
08-28-2006, 9:23 PM
Hello, I've been working on my rifle today, following the step by step instructions on AR15.com. I messed up in that the front pivot pin was pushed all the way through before I attached the upper. Being a super rookie, I didn't realize it until I finished the lower and tried to attach the upper. Is there a way to remove or slide the front pivot pin without damaging the spring?

Also, I don't see an easy way to break open the rifle to load from the top . How does this work? Thanks for any info.

TMC
08-28-2006, 9:28 PM
The front pin has detents at both ends of it travel so it won't move when the rifle is together and won't come out when you field strip.

You should be able to tap the pin and it should slide to the right side, if it doesn't you did something wrong.

As for loading, you pull the rear pin, and hinge the upper 90 deg. out of the way and load the mag.

WRENCHHEAD
08-28-2006, 9:29 PM
push the pin from left to right. the front and rear pivot pins are made to slide out of the way so you can take off the whole upper.

and when loading it you will only need to push the rear pivot pin out of the way, and use the front pin as a hinge.

TheMan
08-28-2006, 9:30 PM
Hello, I've been working on my rifle today, following the step by step instructions on AR15.com. I messed up in that the front pivot pin was pushed all the way through before I attached the upper. Being a super rookie, I didn't realize it until I finished the lower and tried to attach the upper. Is there a way to remove or slide the front pivot pin without damaging the spring?

Did you try pushing it back out? :confused:

When you first assemble them, sometimes that pin can be tough, but it does pop back out so that you can remove or reinstall the upper receiver.

Yeemix
08-28-2006, 9:41 PM