PDA

View Full Version : Rifle hunting and ear protection

makomyday
01-27-2011, 7:37 AM
I am new to rifle hunting, but I have been shotgun and archery hunting for 5 years.
How do you guys use ear protection for rifle hunting deer or hogs? Do you guys just wait until you see your target, and don your ear gear? Or do you just go commando and suck it up?
I have girly ears and hate the ring/pain, even after a couple shotgun blasts.
I will be using a 300 winmag, and a 44mag handgun for hogs.

I need to do whatever it takes to save my ears in my older age.

tony270
01-27-2011, 7:50 AM
I need to hear when I'm hunting, so I don't use hearing protection. Hunting is different than if you are at a range consistently shooting. But I understand some dudes can’t stand the sound, hey what did you say?

Anyway, if I did use hearing protection while hunting I would use electronic hearing protection that allow you to hear but cancels the shot when it is taken.

portegee
01-27-2011, 7:51 AM
Google hunters ear, there is alot of different brands and types. They aren't extreemly cheap for the nice ones, but sometimes you can find deals. They actually amplify sounds untill the sound/blast gets to a certain db and then it mutes it instantly. very nice
http://walkersgameear.com/images/WGEHD.png

taperxz
01-27-2011, 7:52 AM
I don't use ear protection cause I can't hear any more anyway! Lol

One or two shots won't hurt you. It's not like being at the range where everything is louder. You need your ears open while hunting big game.

theseacow
01-27-2011, 8:08 AM
I have some plastic ear plugs that I wrap around my neck. The foam ones are no good because you need to wait for them to expand. Usually, if I have a split second before the shot, or if I'm about to do a stalk, I'll jam them in real quick. I don't always have time to put them in, but they have saved my hearing from a lot of loud shots.

VaderSpade
01-27-2011, 8:44 AM
WHAT, WHAT DID YOU SAY?