PDA

View Full Version : Under Ca law, it legal to.....

CSACANNONEER
01-23-2011, 11:24 AM
Buy a firearm in Ca, remove it from the state, work on it and bring it back as long as it is in a Ca legal configuration?

Yea, I thought so.:D So, I spoke with ATF at SHOT. I got the answer I wanted from them. There is nothing in any federal law which would prevent me from buying a stripped receiver in Ca. (due to Ca's flawwed system, I am forced to DROS it as a long gun), remove it from the state (I don't know if this step would be needed but, I'm playing it safe) and build a handgun out of it. So far, I have not done anything that could remotely be a crime and I am now a California resident in possession of a firearm which I legally purchased in CA but, I happen to have it out of state. Now, is there any law which prevents me from bringing my legally owned/properly configured firearm back to Ca with me? I say, "NO!" I can bring in my legally owned handgun and not even have to register it with DOJ since, I already prchased and owned it in Ca.

Since I now have confirmation from ATF that I can assemble a Ca DROSed stripped lower into a handgun without violating federal law, can someone please point out a Ca law which would stop me from doing this? If I take the stripped receiver out of state, any issues with Ca DROS system wouldn't even apply when I assembled it. So, what would keep me from bringing it back into Ca? Is the DROS system really so flawed that it is easier to get a legal non-rostered and legally non registered handgun in Ca than DROSing and registering the same gun as a handgun at the initial time of purchase?

alex00
01-23-2011, 11:34 AM