PDA

View Full Version : OK, I'm stumped on the residency for rifle thing

KenpoProfessor
08-21-2006, 4:49 PM
http://caag.state.ca.us/firearms/forms/pdf/Cfl2006.pdf

I've gone thru this thing and can't find where it's ILLEGAL to buy a rifle (that is not an AW in CA) out of state. For instance, I go to a gun show where I see an SKS without a GL that I can't live without. I'm assuming that if I buy it from a person with an FFL it's LEGAL, yes/no? What if I buy it PPT?

Have a great Kenpo day

Clyde

blkA4alb
08-21-2006, 4:56 PM
When buying a gun out of state both buyer and seller have to follow the rules of both states. Since california has the DROS and 10 day wait you cannot buy the gun and walk away. Considering that most free state FFLs are not setup to do the California system it gets complicated.

In all truth I'm no expert at all, there are others here who could help you out a lot more.

Mudvayne540ld
08-21-2006, 5:13 PM
I cash and carried outa state once, that is how I got the Mini.
C&C is beautiful

anothergunnut
08-21-2006, 5:15 PM
Federal law only allows an out of state resident to purchase a long gun from a dealer; no private party or handgun sales are allowed. Federal law further states that the sale must comply with the laws of both states. As previously noted, CA requires a DROS and 10 day wait which means we cannot do direct purchases from an out of state FFL. Most other states allow cash and carry purchases so a resident of AZ, for instance, can legally purchase a long gun from a dealer in NV.

Of course, you can purchase other items that are illegal in CA since NV law would apply. You can purchase standard capacity magazines, grenade launchers, etc, etc. You just can't bring them back to CA and you may have trouble finding a NV dealer that will sell to you.

bwiese
08-21-2006, 5:17 PM
I cash and carried outa state once, that is how I got the Mini.
C&C is beautiful