PDA

View Full Version : Tube Fed magazine

salazar44
01-16-2011, 10:04 AM
I just got my hands on a free bolt action Western Field Model 31. It looks like it could be a fun little plinker.

I noticed that the previous owner had some beat up tape around the barrel and tube magazine. After taking it apart for a thorough cleaning, I noticed that the magazine tensioner screw was missing.

I have NO experience with tube magazines and no matter how I try to adjust/place the tube I cannot get it to cycle properly. Can somebody provide a pic of what it looks like from their tube magazine? I also would like some animation of what is going on in a tube fed magazine when a round is cycled

Thanks guys!

salazar44
01-16-2011, 9:05 PM
nobody in the calguns world can snap a pic of the underside for me?

Dorkhedeos
01-16-2011, 9:45 PM
You should probably post a picture of your magazine first. If I showed you a picture of my tube magazine, I dont think it would help much.

salazar44
01-16-2011, 11:37 PM
You should probably post a picture of your magazine first. If I showed you a picture of my tube magazine, I dont think it would help much.

Here you go. So when I took everything apart I did not the location of how it was. There was also tape holding it in place.

Top View

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/dAo-cWHz9S6nPGTiuwkHlU_USTdCWsWZW2sebtJMGKTUgBDjHO8iii NgY30muXmU5INl3SgjVNer2uQNuKo3yTMZEA=s512

Side View

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/AvkT5HDKTLBAHnr5tnSF8wpBuquaDeSc9HpA8addAyDdGdRJo7 YwbqHpabBHvaQmGYpbGzrYfXAiXckFEL0_qVddJw=s512

salazar44
01-16-2011, 11:39 PM
Could anyone tell me the purpose of the screw located between the 'mag well' and the trigger? Also, what is the notch for on the tube?

pilote
01-17-2011, 5:33 AM
are you sure it's a 31 and not 31A...if it's a 31 it's a mossberg R, and parts are hard to find for that exact model...either way you need to get the mag mounts and screws for it or it will never cycle properly...

salazar44
01-17-2011, 8:16 AM