PDA

View Full Version : Tell me about 1903 Springfield rifles...

CaliforniaLiberal
01-15-2011, 9:20 PM
The newest focus of my gun collecting desire is the Springfield 1903 rifle. I'm just starting to learn and thought I'd ask for assistance.

I read on the CMP Forum that they might be getting some ready for sale in 2011. I haven't the faintest idea how popular these might be. Are they the sort of CMP gun that get snapped up in 8 hours and lord knows what price? Or maybe they'll last a couple of months?

Do you have favorite sites on line to go shopping for a 1903? Favorite books?

ElvenSoul
01-15-2011, 9:31 PM
I Prefer one with a C stock.

sevensix2x51
01-15-2011, 9:33 PM
all i can tell you is that theyre awesome. i prefer the a3, i have a remington made in 43. i prefer the new aperture rear sight as opposed to the old style, due to the longer radius and my personal fondness for an aperture rear. good luck with the hunt! theyre tack drivers, at least mine is. :)

Mac Attack
01-15-2011, 9:44 PM
I also prefer the 1903A3 compared to the original 1903. If you can find either one in your price range buy it. I see them for sale all the time on the CMP forum in the $600 - $800 range which is more than I am willing to pay. I recommend you join the CMP forum and read up on the 1903 variants.

I have an all original Remington 1903A3 and for an old girl, it is still amazingly accurate and a joy to shoot. This past Monday I picked up a Springfield 1903 Mark 1 barreled action from another Calgunner and plan to restore to it's former self.

Regarding the CMP and 1903's in 2011 and whether they are popular or not. Let's just say, if you plan to buy one you need to get your prerequisites for a CMP purchase ready now. Because when they post on the CMP website and forum that the rifles are now being sold, they will be sold out in days if not hours. Everyone wants a CMP 1903 and they will go FAST!

ElvenSoul
01-15-2011, 9:50 PM